A New Discord Community for Medium Writers

Join the new Medium community with no self-promotion allowed!

Benya Clark
2 min readJul 13, 2021
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

Attention Medium writers: I’ve just created a new Discord community dedicated to helping each other grow. You can join here.

I know that there are already plenty of Facebook groups and Discord servers for Medium. What sets this group apart from the rest is that no self-promotion is allowed.

On this server, you are not allowed to link to your Medium profile or posts for any reason.

Why such an unusual rule? Because I’ve seen far too many Medium communities overrun by writers who only want to spam links to their latest articles. My hope is that by banning all self-promotion, we can instead focus on actually having substantive conversations.

To be honest, I’m not sure whether this idea has legs. Maybe nobody will join, or maybe the server will fizzle out within just a couple of weeks. But, I’ve had this idea for a few months now, and I finally decided that it couldn’t hurt to try.

If you’re not particularly familiar with Discord, don’t worry — I’m pretty new to it too. Fortunately, it’s very easy to use (and free). Discord is essentially just a chatroom server, and you can get started with it by following this link to the new community.

This community is open to anyone who writes on Medium or is thinking about writing here. I hope you’ll check it out and please feel free to share the link with your friends: https://discord.gg/4JSy39Wame

--

--

Benya Clark

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.