Three Great (And Free) Drawing Lessons for Beginners

There are plenty of free drawing tutorials online, but which of them are actually worth using?

Benya Clark
4 min readDec 17, 2019

--

Photo by Kobu Agency on Unsplash

I started learning to draw earlier this year and I’ve been relying a lot on free online tutorials. It’s amazing how many insanely talented artists have given their time to helping beginners get started.

The only trouble is, there are so many free tutorials that it can actually be a little tricky to sift through them all and find the absolute best. I appreciate everyone who spends their time creating free lessons, but the truth is that some of these tutorials are much more helpful than others.

That’s why I want to share the three free lesson sets that I’ve found most helpful so far. I’m not in any way affiliated with any of these creators, I’m just a huge fan of their lessons.

Three Great Resources

Proko (Stan Prokopenko)
Proko’s main focus is figure drawing, although the lessons cover plenty of fundamentals that transfer over to other subjects. He offers a free version and a paid version, but even the free version has countless hours of material.

There are over a hundred completely free videos available on his website, each with an…

--

--

Benya Clark

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.